Rapier Part 5: Lighting, Animation and Rendering

Hello and welcome back to my blog. Today we’ll be working on the lighting and rendering of my 3d asset.

First thing’s first. Lighting. On my last project I had a bit of trouble with some over-exposed lighting, so I’d like to try to avoid that this time.

lighting one

I also messed around a bit and considered adding a plane with a cloth like texture for decoration, but this was scrapped.

Overall I added in two photo-metric lights and one omni light. The lighting looked pretty dynamic following this.

Lighting 2

So with that, I think it is now time I rendered.

This time it will be a little different however as I also would like to create an animation to show off the different layers of the build.

Animation

The animation of the object will be as follows. I am aiming to have it sort of spin round and go through the different layers. Starting from the wireframe, right through to the finished composition with textures.

Wireframe

The only thing I really needed to add was another texture to stand in for the wire frame other than that I just hid the textures to get the shot for the unpolished version of the sword.

I rendered out 3 different shots:

Sword Textures 1

Rendering

Leave a comment