Part 6 Lighting, and Rendering

Hello and welcome back to my blog. Last time we looked at scene assembly and what it entails. As we draw nearer and nearer to the end of the pipeline, I find myself getting more and more excited to see the finished result.

First up, we have Lighting.

Without adequate lighting in a scene, your final production will look somewhat underwhelming. Dark is one word that comes to mind. Of course, as outlined by the video tutorials that I have been following there are a few options when it comes to lighting.
The tutorial first had us configure our rendering settings, which as you can tell already lighting and rendering sometimes work closely together.
So, I configured my rendering settings to use Manta Ray for lighting at least. I later became unhappy with the rendering speed, and decided to use Quicksilver instead, as outlined by my tutor. I kept the lighting settings that manta ray had by default, and played around a bit with the sky dome, to achieve an image that didn’t look appallingly yellow.
I placed one Omni light, and then moved on to rendering out the final images.
omni
There seem to be thousands of options to choose from, when it comes to rendering, so I didn’t adventure far from what was outlined this time. I chose to save my files as png’s as they can always be recovered, and for the next stage I need still images rather than a video file, in order to use them in Premiere Pro for its rendering as a mp4

Leave a comment